Orange is so “A-Peeling”!

Standard

I love orange.  If you have ever read my blog, you know I have said that before but I thought it was worth mentioning again since this post is about painting a piece of furniture orange.  Orange seems to be one of those colors that brings out a lot of emotion in people.  You either love it or you hate it.  Orange has to be done right or it can be blinding and give you a headache.  But when it is a soothing orange like a sunset or a fall pumpkin, there is nothing more beautiful.  It is a color that makes me happy.

This post is a long time in the making.  I started this project about two months ago.  I am an “instant gratification” kinda gal (much to the chagrin of my hubby), so I usually try to finish my projects pretty quickly.  But in this case the d**m pollen kept getting in the way.  Every time I tried to put another coat of primer or paint on, it would be covered in yellow in about 2 minutes and I would have to start over.  I got very tired of sanding and wiping pollen so I let the project sit for a while until the pollen lessened.  I finally finished this weekend and am pretty happy with the results.  It is not perfect – but then neither am I.

I have been wanting a little orange statement piece in my foyer for quite a while.  I could not find something I liked or that fit or that I could afford.  I decided to take matters into my own hands when I found this piece at Ballard Outlet for $69.99.  It was the perfect size and the right price, but it was an ugly, fake looking oak and I wanted orange.  (This is where I stomp my foot and pout with a little whine added). Smile.

Anyway … here is what I did.

I realize from this picture that the color looks much deeper than it really was – but trust me … ugly oak.

A before picture from another angle.

Yes, I know that my garage is a mess.  I tried to crop out as much as the crap as I could – but you will just have to look past it.  Thanks!

This picture shows the color much better.  The garage is …. yep – still a mess.

Step 1:  Take out all the drawers and shelves and remove all hardware.

Step 2:  Once again admire the great deal you got on your piece.

Yes, you are reading that right … the original price was $459.00 then marked down to $343.99 … I got it for $69.99.  Are you kidding?  Who in their right mind would have paid $459.00 for this?  No offense to any one who might have made this mistake … but yikes!

Step 3:  Grab your sanding and priming supplies.

Start stretching out your arms – sanding can be a bit of a work out.  At least that is what I tell myself when I don’t go to the gym.  “No problem – I can eat that ice cream.  I sanded today.”

Step 4:  Sand while humming “I’m sexy and I know it … I WORK OUT!”

Top is sanded … at this point I am a little tired.  Time to take a little lemonade break.  hee!

Step 5:  Wipe down the sanded piece with a clean cloth.

Step 6:  Prime the piece.

This does not have to be perfect.  You will sand it one more time in between priming and painting.  I did not prime the back because I planned on modpodging some funky paper on the back. I have not done this yet, but I do have the paper so any day now …

Step 7:  First coat of paint.

Don’t panic when you see the orange – it is not done.  This is the first coat.  I was lucky enough to find the perfect orange color in a spray paint.  It is from Valspar and it is called “Fonda Copper”.  I knew it would work – especially if I used a dark glaze with it.  Spray painting is very therapeutic for me – but not always great in the wind … FYI.

Again – does not need to be perfect if you are papering the back.

I don’t have pictures of the rest of the procedure – I really don’t know why.  I must have been having one of those “officially lost it” days.  But, to finish it up, here are the steps I took:

Step 8:  Light sanding and another coat of orange.

Step 9:  Distress the edges of the piece with a heavier sandpaper.

Step 10:  Put a dark walnut glaze over the piece, a small section at a time and them immediately wipe it off, while rubbing it in.  Does that make sense?

Step 11:  Glaze entire piece with a Minwax paste.  Makes it smooth, deepens the color and protects it.

Step 12:  Put drawers back in and hardware back on.  I was lucky enough that I liked the hardware.  This can be easily changed, however, if you don’t like your hardware.

Okay … before I show you the finished product, let me show you the empty corner it will call home:

If you see any “dust bunnies”  I don’t want to know.

I am excited to show you how the finished piece looks, but I have not finished the foyer enough to show you it all just yet.  That will have to wait for another post.  I still need to decorate the top of the table, pictures, lamps and rugs.  Coming soon.

I like the way it turned out.  I know you might be wondering about the drip marks on the doors.  I know my hubby was.  It was originally a mistake, but then I kinda liked it so I left it.  I may go back and cover it later if it bugs me – but it reminds me that things don’t have to be perfect to be beautiful.

Another tiny issue … the magnet on the left drawer is missing so it won’t close all the way.  Easy fix.

Boy – do I need a new camera!  Every picture looks like a different color.  I hope you get the gist.  Isn’t Mother’s Day coming up???

Well … that’s it for today.  What do you think of my Orange foyer piece?  Do you find it “A-peeling”?  Stay tuned for how it fits in the foyer together with the rest of the decor.  Happy Hump Day!

Hope your life is more heaven than havoc!

Missi

See Me At:

Weekend Bloggy Reading

Furniture Feature Fridays

southern hospitality

Tip Junkie handmade projects

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

18 responses »

  1. Pingback: Fabulous Friday Favorite – Ballard Outlet « havoc to heaven

      • aww… you’re the sweetest!

        I had to come back and take another look and re-read it. The 1st time I saw it I was w. my baby in my arms and I couldn’t read all the steps. I bookmarked this page because I’m planning on buying an armoire (solid oak, but not crazy about it) and paint it. I’m thinking a creamy, antique white, not sure yet. But I have NOOO experience w/ it, so this post is really encouraging and teaching me. Thank you so much! 🙂

        Big hugs,

        Luciane at HomeBunch.com

      • Luciane – If I can do it … anyone can do it. I love a creamy antique white over oak. When you distress the corners, the oak is a nice soft brown that comes through. One of the only redeeming qualities of ugly oak.

        You are the first person to ever bookmark one of my posts. That is so exciting for me! Please be sure to let me know when you finish your armoire project – I can’t wait to see it!

        Big hugs Back – Missi

  2. Such a pretty, happy color – love how it turned out. Your foyer colors look exactly like mine and I hadn’t thought about using this color. I might have to give it a try. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

