A Day with Dad – The Masters!

Standard

If there’s a golf course in heaven, I hope it’s like Augusta National. I just don’t want an early tee time.  – Gary Player

Monday was a good day … not a good day – a great day!  I spent the day at Augusta National Golf Club with my Dad.  Seeing Augusta was a dream of my dad’s (on his bucket list).  So, for his 70th birthday in March, my sister, brother and I gave my dad passes to Monday’s practice round.  I was fortunate enough to be able to go with him and check off one of my bucket list items.

I can’t remember seeing my Dad so excited about something.  On the way to the course he kept saying “I feel like I am 10 years old again and my dad is taking me to Yankee Stadium for the first time”!  If you know my dad, he is the BIGGEST Yankee fan ever – so you know this experience meant a lot to him.

I can’t even begin to tell you how perfect this experience was for my dad and I.  All the employees were so friendly, the event is well organized and it is as clean as Disney World.  And the weather …. not a cloud in the sky and a light breeze!  Wow!

So today I am dedicating my post to my Dad.  We all have different passions – this may not be yours – but you cannot deny the beauty of this course.  It is truly heaven on earth!

The Leader Board.  I can’t believe we are at The Masters!

Looking down the 1st fairway from the tee box.  Can you imagine how intimidated you would be seeing all the people and feeling all the tradition?  Makes my knees shake just thinking about it.

Just to give you idea of how many people were there.  Everyone is so happy to be there.  Not a crabby person to be seen!

The 10th hole.  We started our day here.  We couldn’t wait to see Amen Corner (hole 11, 12 and 13)!

Amen Corner [at Augusta] looks like something that fell from heaven, but it plays like something straight out of hell.
– Gary van Sickle

Coming down the 11th …

Looking out to the 12th green over the bridge.  Getting into the heart of Amen Corner.

I think my only disappointment of the day is that the azalea’s had already bloomed.  We had such a warm winter, the flowers bloomed early.  This area is usually covered with azalea blooms – I would have like to have seen this.  Still stunning – however.

Looking back to the 13th tee box.  It is right behind the 12th green.  This is one of my favorite shots of the day.  It was breathtaking.  These pictures don’t even begin to do this justice.

Another picture of the 13th tee box on the top of the hill.  We are standing in the fairway – waiting for Bubba Watson to tee off.  What a thrill!

Bubba Watson after crushing the ball off the tee.  Gosh can he hit the ball!

Bubba getting ready for his 2nd shot.  He was so much smaller in stature than I imagined for being such a huge hitter.

The arrow in this picture is pointing to a white flag that marks the exact spot that Phil Mickelson’s ball landed in 2010’s final round.

Phil Mickelson’s ball rested on top of the pine straw behind a tree at the 13th hole in Sunday’s final round of the Masters. He was facing his second shot, and he saw an opening. That’s a gift of Mickelson’s, of course: His ability to see clearings where others see traffic jams. That’s also a weakness. Sometimes there really are traffic jams.

Mickelson loved his lie. His ball was resting right on top of the straw, looking pretty, like it was pleading: “Come on Phil. Go for it.” Good lies can be an illusion, of course.   Golfers do believe that, with good lies, anything is possible.

Mickelson looked at his opening again. It was maybe four feet wide, plenty wide enough, if he hit it good. But could he count on hitting the ball good? This was the back nine at Augusta. He was leading the Masters by two shots. The air was getting thin. And, no matter how good the lie looked, his ball was on pine straw. And there was a giant tree in front of him and another tree not too far to the left. And there was water in front of the green. And it was 187 yards to carry over the water. And …

If you don’t know what happened next – check out the video on YouTube here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gh1ZVLuZdvE

This is what makes The Masters so special.

This is the one thing I wanted to do …see Tiger up close.  I don’t know what it is about Tiger that makes people so drawn to him.  He had a giant crowd following him all day.  I think people are so drawn to a come back story.  They can so easily forget how he fell to begin with … I am just as guilty, unfortunately.

Lots of Tiger pictures … I will spare you the rest.

Looking down the 18th fairway.  Think about standing on the tee box at 18 on the final day – down by 1 stroke.  This would make you lose it … it is so narrow between those trees.  It was a sight to see!

This is Kevin Na teeing off on the 18th.  You can really see how narrow it is here.

Bunkers on the 18th!

I couldn’t help but to take a picture of the grass.  It was like the softest, greenest and most perfect blanket.  I wanted to lay down on it – on my stomach so I could put my cheek against the grass but I would like to come back one day so I refrained from the crazy.  I was tempted.  Yes, I know … weirdo!

My Dad taking his first look at the course. Pure Joy!

What other people may find in poetry or art museums, I find in the flight of a good drive.
Arnold Palmer and my Dad

 

Hope your life is more Augusta (heaven) than havoc!

Missi

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

9 responses »

  1. Missi- Thanks for sharing this special moment of your Dad’s — he is a “special” guy

    The other Miller in coffee group

  2. Great writing. You should start a golf blog as well – The “George Will” of interior design!. Sounds like it was a very special day for both you and your father!

  3. What a great gift…the gift of family I know is your dads number one gift ….Yankee’s second…the Masters third…your dad has been soooooo excited since he knew he would be walking his #1 golf course. A happy dad makes for a great best friend!

  4. Missi,

    So glad you got to experience this with your Dad. It really is something to see, they have kept it amazingly “special”. When I took Alan, before we were married, it was also an item on his bucket list, and is especially fun to witness the child-like spirit and excitment that it awakens in adults who have dreamed of going. Enjoy your time at the beach and hello to all. So glad you had such nice weather for your dad’s special day.

Leave a Reply

