Stairway to Heaven

Standard

Happy Monday!  Does anyone else get the Monday blues?  The weekends zip by so fast and next thing you know the alarm is blaring early Monday morning.  On one hand I like the routine of the week – on the other hand – “please just 5 more minutes of sleep”!  I can press the Snooze with the best of them!

The post today is based on the staircase in our home.  I despise it! The risers are too steep and the steps are too narrow.  We tried to have it fixed – but we don’t have enough room to move the steps out or turn them.  Every visitor that has stayed in our home has commented on how steep the stairs are … Ugh!  My husband has even ended up overstepping a narrow step and bumping down on his butt.  You won’t believe how loud that is at 5:00 a.m. when he is leaving for work.  Yikes – scared me to death!  Then  I laughed hysterically – once I knew he was okay – of course.  I’m such a sympathetic gal!

Now we have a super thick – extra sturdy handrail – be sure to HOLD ON if you ever come to visit!  Here are our stairs before …

I’m not sure if you can tell how narrow and steep the stairs are in this picture – but I know you can tell how plain and boring they are!  Here’s the after:

I really like the carpet we put on the stairs – it looks much better.  The flowers are sage green and the lattice is green and chocolate brown – all on a khaki background.  We wanted to make the stairs hardwood with a runner, but it was physically and financially not in the cards!  Our steps look good but wait to you see the stair risers I’m posting today.  So incredible!  Let me know what you think?

We used to have stairs very similar to these in a house we lived in about 3 years ago.  The stairs led to the basement and had a different Mexican tile on each stair riser.  I bought the tile from a gentleman in San Diego who would go to Mexico and bring back the most beautiful and colorful tile.  I loved the stairs – I think they were my favorite part of this house and I hated to leave them.

Photo of numbered stairs in French found on Hiphostess.blogspot.com

White, painted stairs numbered in French – pretty great!  However, white steps would never fly at the Smith house.  These steps would be dirty brown in about a week and it would drive me nuts!

Now these are more the Smith style.  Numbered risers with a worn, rustic look.  The more worn out they get the better they will look.  Awesome!

This is a true Beatles fan … each riser painted with a different Beatles lyric.  How cool would this be going down to a basement game, music or theater room?  Really incredible the amount of time that went into this look … I think it was worth it!

Ummmm…. Are you kidding me?  NO WAY in H – E – Double Hockey Sticks!

Happy Yellow Stairs!  Can you say anything else?  Gorgeous!

I am in love with these stairs!  The one riser with red on it makes it outstanding!  How amazing would this be in a beach house?  I’m drooling.

Even though putting orange flower tile on your risers may seem to limit your decor – think again!  This will always make a statement and can be used with any decor!  Orange is everywhere!

Black and white – always in style.  Sophisticated, classic and beautiful.  I would love this in an updated cottage!

I hope I have given you some ideas on how changing your stair risers can make such a huge impact on the look of your home.  There are so many materials you can use – the possibilities are endless!  Paint, tile (Mexican, slate, rock, glass) and I have even seen stained glass put on risers.  I also think this looks AMAZING on outside stairs.  Imagine those yellow tile stairs leading to a pool or the beach.  Really … I gotta stop – it’s killing me!

Hope your life is more heaven than havoc!

Missi

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

