Breakfast Room – Before and After

Standard

Happy Thursday!  It is beautiful here in Georgia – sunny and 80 degrees today!  The perfect day to pull weeds play tennis!  I know what I should be doing … but what I want to do is something different.  Isn’t it a woman’s prerogative to change her mind?

Today I want to show you our new breakfast room.  This space is far from done, but you can at least see the bones of the room.  I really want this area to be cozy, comfortable and some place that family and friends want to hang out.  I really cherish my time with my family at the dinner table.  We have the best conversations and lots of laughs.  Some of my best memories from my childhood are from the dinner table!

We have a tradition that we do at the end of dinner.  It’s called “The Condiment Quiz”.  Anyone who eats with us is not excused from playing the game (ask my teens friends).  Anyway – the game goes like this … I pick a topic and ask a question on that topic.  Whoever yells the answer out first is out of the game and excused from putting away the condiments.  Last one standing (or in this case sitting) has to put away all the condiments in the fridge or pantry.  My kids moan and groan about it, but I know they secretly love this game.  We have had topics from geography to sports mascots to Disney movies.

So you can see this area has to be fun and comfortable so we want to hang for a while after dinner and just be with each other.  Here is the before:

Lots of windows – I love bringing the outdoors into a room.  You can see outside from any seat in this room.

We had a bench built in the corner of the room to make a banquette.  I have always wanted a banquette and this room was made for it.  We had a huge 6 foot round table when we moved in and no matter which way we set it up it just didn’t fit.  At first I was really bummed – but once I figured out this configuration I felt better.  I had the same place build this trestle table that had built the round table.  This place is wonderful – it’s called European Antique Pine and you can see their stuff online at europeanantiquepine.com.

This banquette will easily seat 10 people and could probably squeeze in 12 if we all liked each other!  As you can see this area needs a lot of love and color.  I have ordered a cushion for the bench.  It will be in a dark chocolate brown Sunbrella material.  I like the idea of using outdoor material inside – super durable and can wipe it up easily.

I can’t wait to show you what is going on that big, blank wall.  I bought the most amazing folk art at Etsy.com.  You will have to check back and see how it turns out.

I am also in the process of having window treatments done .  Here are the fabrics I am using – I am just not a neutral girl.  I know that calm, white, beige or gray rooms are the big thing right now – and they are beautiful – but that’s just not me.  My family is loud, colorful and a little funky so I like my house to reflect the real us.

This is the fabric for the bench cushion.

This is the window fabric.  It just screams me!  All my favorite colors – sage green, orange, turquoise, red and chocolate brown.  I am doing a simple flat valance on medallions since the fabric is so busy.  It will be trimmed in a fabric call Oval Tangerine.  See below :

The color is pretty hard to see in this pic – but it is a true tangerine (color of the year!) I will also have pillows made from this fabric.  Other pillows will be included on the bench also – I will show you an after shot when it all comes together.

What do you think?  I’m pretty excited about seeing it all come together.  I especially can’t wait to have our first dinner in “color”!

Hope your life is more havoc than heaven!

Missi

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

7 responses »

    • Thanks Sunday! You should check out the before and afters of the kitchen – that’s where the big changes happened! I would love to hear what you think – you have such great taste! hugs back – Missi

    • Thanks for stopping by Emily! I was one miserable girl … but the girls were beautiful! I had one more girl 2 years after the twins and then adopted a boy from Guatemala. It’s busy but I love it! You will be busy too – try to record as much of it as you can because it will be a blur!

      P.S. I love your style and your blog is amazing!!

  1. Missi,
    Hello! My name is Leigh Spittlel and I am a Interior Designer with four children ( 16-22 ) and started my own Work From Home gift basket business almost two years ago and started blogging back in late January ( I have two blogs ) ,and now I belong to Bloggers on Design. I love your room and the finishes that you have selected so far. I have a suggestion for the valance. You said you were using medallions on a flat valance , but if the chandelier is wrought iron as it looks from the photos, you could use the wrought iron clip rings on the valance and rod iron ( look is less expensive than real ) rod system with the elbows,etc You have a large expanse of window glass, so the smaller diameter rod would appear less conspicuous.Just make sure that it sits above the window frame so you don’t see it from the outside! This would be a sturdier window treatment than the medallions alone, and you would not have to change the construction of the valance, but just add the clip rings. It would also be easier to move the valance out of the way. Just a thought. Carry the print around the room into place mats with the accent of the tangerine napkins, and the print will be distributed around the room nicely! I used a similar print for pinch pleated draperies over light melon sheers in a client’s home. I love browns,oranges,yellows, greens and blues. Not a ” just neutrals” person either. Best wishes on your project!
    LaBella Leigh

    • Hi Leigh – Thanks for checking out my blog! I look forward to checking out yours as well. I appreciate your ideas. I am actually using an iron rod with clip rings in the family room. I don’t think I did a very good job explaining the valance in the kitchen. I am not crazy about a ton of medallions across a large expanse of windows. This treatment will only have medallions at each corner of the windows – so only 8 total. I plan on using super simple iron medallions to match the rod in the family room and the cafe curtain rod over the sink.

      I really like your idea of the placemats – it would be cool to have the fabric laminated so you could just wipe them off. Ooooh …. I think I’m on to something!

      Thanks again for commenting – Missi

      • Missi,
        You’re very welcome! The eight medallions sounds much better! Yes, carrying the iron theme into the kitchen, especially if you can see one window from another, gives a more unified look to the space. The lamination on the placemats makes them pretty and practical! Here’s a toast to great design!
        La Bella Leigh

Leave a Reply

