Kitchen – The Details

Standard

Well … what did you think of the kitchen reveal?  Huge change huh?  Taking that wall down between the family room and the kitchen was the best move of the remodel – and it was not a load-bearing wall so we totally lucked out!

Today it’s the details …

“Excellence is in the details. Give attention to the details and excellence will come.” – Perry Paxton

Check out the granite – I used a beautiful green granite on the perimeter of the kitchen called Sea Oats.  As I mentioned yesterday, I just fell in love with this granite when I saw it.  Green is my favorite color and to look at the way it flows on my counter tops everyday makes me happy happy!

Doesn’t it look like waves in the sea?  I wish the green came out a little clearer – it is a deep sage.

Okay … I know …enough already!  We get it – it flows!  Sorry – I just really love it!

The next set of pictures shows the granite that is on the island.  It is called White Galaxy and can really look entirely different by slab.  I really liked this slab because it had some sage, brown and even a little lavender in it.  There is one section that looks like someone spilled paint on it and another section that actually sparkles.  It is amazing that this is a rock that comes out of the ground like this … wow!

You can really see the green in this picture.  I know it is hard to see the lavender – it is really subtle in the middle of the picture.

Can you see the black “slash” marks?  It looks like someone spilled paint on the counter.  I wasn’t sure if I liked it at first.  I tend to be a bit of a loon perfectionist about things and this was a bit unorthodox for me.  Now I love it … it gives the granite so much character.

Oooooo …. sparkly!  I am attracted to all kinds of sparkly things … sorta like a shark or a raccoon.  Aren’t all women?

On to tile … I picked plain antique white (bisque) subway tiles.  I did pay a little more to have the handmade tiles instead of the machine made.  They really do look good.  Not quite so flat or exact – they have personality.  I wanted the tiles to match the cabinets and not take away from the counter tops.

This picture also has a good look of the bar sink and faucets.

Speaking of sinks and faucets …

Large double farm sink by Villeroy & Boch with a single/pull-out faucet and soap dispenser.  I like how deep this sink is – it can fit a large stock pot in it and still be able to fill it with water.

I know having two dishwashers is frivolous – but I don’t know how I ever lived without them.  I can’t say this enough – if you have the room – two dishwashers is heaven. With a family of six there seems to be a never ending sink full of dishes – with two dw’s, there is no excuse to leave your dishes in the sink.

Lighting – I believe it was the great Paul Lynde from Hollywood Squares and Bewitched (am I aging myself or what?) that said,

“A room is like a stage. If you see it without lighting, it can be the coldest place in the world.”

If you think I knew this quote by heart … think again … looked it up on Brainy Quotes.  Seriously … Paul Lynde?

These are the lights over the island.  These lanterns are actually outside lights, but they had just the look I wanted and listen to the deal I got when I bought the lights.  I originally saw them online for $328 each.  Yikes!  I went up to the Progressive Lighting outlet and found them in their warehouse for $18 each.  Are you kidding?  I saved $930!!  I love a deal!!

Hardware can really change the look of a kitchen.  If you want to update your kitchen, hardware is a great and economical way to make a big impact!

I used antique bronze cup pulls on all the drawers.  I like that they give the kitchen a casual, farmhouse type vibe.


On the upper cabinet doors, I used a simple antique bronze knob.  The knob is flat – not rounded, to give it a little different look.

I made a couple of upgrades to the island.  I added beadboard to the back side and some big legs on the ends to make it feel like a table on one side.  Sorry about the shadow – I really must get myself a decent camera!

Hope you enjoyed all the kitchen detail pictures as much I enjoyed picking out the details.  Tomorrow I will post the changes to the breakfast area.  See you soon!

Hope your life is more heaven than havoc!

Missi

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

8 responses »

  1. Missi, I’m really enjoying your blog, like Christie I open it first thing each morning. The kitchen is looking fantastic, love the granite. I want a new kitchen!!

  2. Missi, I open this first thing each morning! I have just loved reading and SEEING your reveal. Being a beach lady I see the waves and hear the breakers in your counter granite. Makes me wanna whine, “I want a foreclosure!” Or at least new counters!

Leave a Reply

