Kitchen – The Mess

Standard

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend.  The weather was amazing here in Georgia – perfect days to be outside watching lacrosse games and painting furniture!

Does anyone else hate Daylight Savings?  It really messes with me the first couple of days.  When the alarm goes off at 6:15 and my body feels like it’s 5:15 – I am one crabby chick-a-dee!

Todays post shows my kitchen in the construction phase.  Removing walls, windows, doors and building it all back up again.  Just a reminder of the before:

All the kitchen cabinets have been pulled out and stacked in the garage.  The big thing is the wall between the kitchen and family room coming down.  It made a HUGE difference in this space.  We were just shocked when we saw this for the first time.  Amazing!

This is what the wall looked liked before.  Notice the carpet in the family room – that is all ripped out and replaced with hardwoods.  More to come on the family room on another day!

Another angle.  Check out those huge windows!  The natural light coming through made the area feel so open and happy!

Our contractor didn’t know he was in the pic … surprise!

The next pictures are taken from the other side.  If you remember there was a door and window in the kitchen and a tiny screen porch off the kitchen.

The door and the window on the right side of the picture come out.  In addition, the wall and door where the contractor is standing also comes down to make the breakfast area.  Take a look …

We had to bring up the floor from the porch to be even with the kitchen floor.  You actually stepped down to get into the porch originally.  We added the door out to the deck and all the windows in the room.  I love all the light coming through the windows in this area!

Drywall day … starting to look like a room!

Door and window that were on the back wall are now gone, framed and dry walled.  Doesn’t this space look so much bigger?!

Unfortunately – I didn’t know I would be blogging or I would have taken a ton more pictures.  We moved into the house before the kitchen was finished.  We went for 6 weeks with card tables lined up with a microwave, toaster oven and electric skillet.  This was the longest 6 weeks of my life – I think I would have rather been in labor for 6 weeks (okay, let’s not get carried away),  but it was pretty bad!  Four teenagers with a mini fridge does not equal heaven!

This was true havoc!  Here is a picture the day we moved in.  Don’t know what to do with something?  Just put it in the empty bowling alley called the “kitchen”.

Oh no!  This was even worse than I remember!  I’m ready to see the AFTER!  How about you?  It won’t be a true AFTER since it is still a work in progress (accessories, window treatments – you know all the fun stuff), but you will definitely be surprised to see the cabinets come in!

Happy Monday!

Hope your life is more heaven than havoc!

Missi

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

One response »

Leave a Reply

