Fabulous Friday Favorites

Standard

TGIF!!!  Kids are out of school today – not sure if that is good or bad?  The sleeping late part is good – but the constant bickering … not so much!

I have decided to start a new addition to Friday posts … My top 3 Fabulous Friday Favorites.  I would love your opinions and comments.  What do you think?

1.  BURLAP:

I am so in love with burlap right now.  I love it as a table runner, art, wreaths and pillows and anything else I can wrap up with it!  I think it can work in all types of homes – cottage, rustic, traditional, contemporary and beach.

Source: google.com via Lauran on Pinterest

Source: homageblog.com via Bea on Pinterest

Source: etsy.com via Liz on Pinterest

Seriously … isn’t burlap the bomb! I love the texture, neutral colors and flexibility. It’s not the coziest thing to lay on – but it sure looks good!

2.  BIRDS:

If you haven’t seen birds everywhere then you have been living in a cave.  From high-end boutiques to Pottery Barn to Walmart – they are on everything!  They can be multi-colored, solid colors (like a silhouette), big or small.   Birds are on wallpaper, pillows, bedding, table dressings, art – you name it!  Here are just a few of my favorites (including my own powder bath)!

I was so thrilled when this wallpaper went up in my powder bath.  I know the colors are kind of hard to see on these pictures, but the background is a gold/mustard color and the pattern is a rustic red.  I seriously hugged my walls when the paper was installed – I was so excited!

These are the bird pictures on the wall in the powder bath.  I picked up the main pictures at an estate sale for $5.00 each – then had them framed.  They look so expensive … I love a deal!  I will be doing another post on the transformation of this bathroom.  This bath didn’t even have a toilet when we moved in!

Cute bird fabric! Would be wonderful in a playroom, nursery or little girl’s room. I think I would also like it on pillows for outdoors – funky!

This is my daughter’s room.  I purchased this tree and bird decals on Etsy.  It was really easy to apply and changed the entire look of the room.  She loves it!

Bird pillows from Pottery Barn.  Google “bird pillows” – you won’t believe what will come up – amazing!

apartmenttherapy.com

cb2.com

I want this pillow so bad for the banquette in my kitchen.  I think it is so funky and cute!  I am just afraid the white will not be white for long after 4 kids wipe their hands on it!  Boo!

3.  OWLS:

I know … I know … you are thinking “Are owls not birds? Why a whole category on owls?”  Because they make me happy happy happy … !  These pictures are from my own personal owl collection – Oh my God!  I sound like I am 100!

This is my pride and joy … an antique McCoy owl cookie jar.  I adore it so much that I am afraid to use it, so it sits on a shelf, holding up my cookbooks.  I got it on Ebay!

This is my owl from Mexico.  I like to pretend that I got it while staying in a 5 star resort in Cabo … but I really got it at a garage sale for 50 cents.  Yay me!

Just a little grouping of unusual owls.  When I see them in a picture, I realize I might be a little obsessed.

This was the first owl I ever bought.  I saw it in a magazine spread and was determined to have it.  Now you can find them pretty easily, but at the time, I had to stalk the internet to track it down … not to mention I paid a fortune.  Oops!

Yikes is this a bad picture or what?  This is my rock owl family.  I really am crazy!

And just to prove that I have truly lost my mind … a Wizard Owl.  Really?

This next picture is not in my collection – but I wish it was … Oh no, I think I might need an owl sponsor to “talk me down” from the crazy tree.

Etsy.com

Are you ready for more kitchen remodeling?  See you back on Monday for the Kitchen – DURING post!  Have a great weekend!

Hope your life is more heaven than havoc!

Missi

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

