Headboard Happiness II

Standard

Welcome to Part II of Headboard Ideas!

“No one ever died from sleeping in an unmade bed. I have known mothers who remake the bed after their children do it because there is wrinkle in the spread or the blanket is on crooked. This is sick.”
Erma Bombeck

Just remember when looking at the following pics of these fantastic headboards that the bed itself does not have to be perfect.  The headboard will be amazing whether the bed is made, has matching sheets or beautiful throw pillows.  Start with the structure of the bed and the rest will follow.
Use an old fireplace mantel behind your bed as the headboard.  These can be found in the “materials” section on craigslist fairly often.  There is also an abundance of antique mantels at salvage yards, antique stores and flea markets.  I also like the Restore by Habitat for Humanity.  Not only can you find unique finds for cheap – the money goes to Habitat.   A win-win for everyone!
Have you ever used chalkboard paint?  It is so easy and can make any surface into a work of art!
This is another example of covering plywood with fabric for a real show stopper.  I love what an impact the headboard makes with the simple sheets and comforter.  A couple monogrammed pillows and you have real elegance.
Same look as above but with a chocolate and white zebra fabric.  The monogrammed pillows are a little more contemporary but just as spectacular!  Don’t you just love blue and brown?
This headboard is just an old door.  Can you get any more simple than that?  Can be used in a girl’s or boy’s room as well as an adult’s master bedroom.  It can be stained or painted for two totally different looks.
I wanted to show you what the door would look like painted – but please don’t ever put a headboard behind a bed that is too wide like this one.  A door can look so cool behind a bed, but this just looks like someone hung the door sideways in the wrong spot.  Not good.
Loving these double doors with the hardware still attached.  It almost looks like the doorway to a secret “dream” world.  Get it?  Dream world … bed … ha! ha!  Not really that funny.  Anyway – I really like the way it looks, but I think I might wake up every morning hitting my head on the doorknob.  How often do you say that?  “Shoot – I hit my head on that darn doorknob again!”
This is just vinyl wall stickers placed behind the bed.  The stickers act as a headboard.  Super easy – super cheap – super cool!
This is just a large picture frame with a fabric covered canvas.  The frame could be spray painted any color to match your decor as well as fabric in any color or pattern.
This is another idea with frames.  Instead of one big frame, try a grouping of smaller ones.  This is such a personal way to add character to a room.  Grandma and Grandpa would love to stay in this guest room where pictures of their grand kids make up the headboard.
I am in love with this headboard!  Old shutters painted in two different colors to match the decor of the room can make such a statement.  Simple.  You could either buy old shutters or buy new and distress them to make them look old.
I saved my favorite for last!  I think this corrugated tin headboard is fabulous!!  My only worry is that the edges might be rough after it is cut into this shape.  Hey – I’m willing to get a tetanus shot if needed.  This headboard is too cool!
On another note ….Many of you have asked me “What was in the package with the diamond initial?”
A picture frame made by my friend from threemonkeez.com.  I love the burlap strip with the fleur de lis.  This will look so perfect in my family room.  I plan on putting a black and white picture of my kids in the opening – a color picture would take away from the beauty of the frame.  Isn’t it amazing?  You really need to check out her website to see all the divine crafts she makes – everything is one of a kind and personal.
These items were also in the package.  I adore the colors and can’t wait to put a big piece of chocolate cake on those plates!
Have a great weekend!  I am off to Florida with my son for a few days – he has a winter break next week.  My mom and dad spend the winter in Florida and we are going to go visit them at the beach.  I can’t wait for some sun, sand and shopping.  My son just wants to putt-putt with his Papa.  Wish my hubby good luck – he is staying back with the 3 girls!
Hope your life is more heaven than havoc!
Missi

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

One response »

  1. I’m glad you told us what was in the birthday package…. I was dying to know… the package was so beautiful, I knew there were cool things inside as well 🙂
    Have fun at the beach and tell mom and dad “hello” from me….
    Loving your blogs- Michelle

Leave a Reply

