Get Ready to Fall in Love!

Standard

I will be including this post in the Weekend Bloggy at Serenity Now!  Come check it out!

Hey All!

Hope everyone is having a wonderful week!  I had a great birthday … thanks again for all the wishes!  Speaking of wishes …my family took me to Hibachi for dinner (my favorite).  After dinner the wait staff sang Happy Birthday to me in Japanese, along with clapping, yelling out “hey! hey!” and an ice cream sundae.  My kids were just thrilled with all the attention drawn to our table and me being the only one in the group yelling “hey! hey!” with my fists pumping in the air.  Anyway … the sundae had a candle for a wish.  My one wish for the year.  As I am contemplating the wish of all wishes … my “hilarious” kids blow out my candle (you know who you are).  Looks like my chance of winning the lottery and losing 20 pounds are out for this year.

As promised … get ready to fall in love with the craft room of all craft rooms!  This is my friend from threemonkeez.com.  She is truly one of the most creative women I have ever known – as well as the kindest and most generous.  With a little hair-pulling, I talked her into taking some pictures for me of this amazing room.  Besides this room being absolutely beautiful – everything in it has a meaning just to her.  It is truly her room.  So here we go …

She wanted this room to look like an old back porch.  So her husband built her the ultimate “back porch” in her basement.  Notice the siding on the walls so the room looks like it is outside. He even included one wall in old brick.  The floor is raised  so you step up into the room and walk onto wide plank wood floors.  It is like coming into craft room heaven.

The words on the wall read “Everyday holds a possibility of a Miracle”.  If you saw the projects that come out of this room, you believe this saying!

This is her grandmother’s old sewing machine.  The legs were damaged in a move so she kept the cabinet and can now see it everyday while dreaming up new ideas.  I love things that have deep meaning.  Check out the ceiling.  More to come on this.

This is the brick wall.  How lucky to have a husband that can recognize your vision and be able to bring it to fruition!  The brick wall adds so much character to this room and really does make you feel like you are outside.

An old distressed hutch serves as storage for baskets of all kinds of art supplies.  Look at that incredible brick wall and beautiful wood floors.  There are pictures of family and friends all over the room – a reminder of what’s really important.

Love the birdhouses!

Wow!  I love this old Hoosier Cabinet!  If you open up the single cabinet next to the open shelf, there is an old coffee grinder inside.  So unique and cool!  Using furniture for different things than what was intended is a great way to give your room character.  Bookshelves are fine … but an antique Hoosier … come on – awesome!  The three baskets next to the cabinet is filled with flowers and paint brushes.  Easy access and instant inspiration!


Painting an old window makes such a statement.  Looks great inside or outside.  You can find old windows at flea markets fairly easily.  They are usually cheap – but be careful – the really old ones are painted with lead paint.  Be sure to wear a mask if you decide to strip and repaint the frame.

The other side of the Hoosier.  Check out the siding on the walls.  How cool is that?  Remember this room is inside in a basement.

Okay … I can’t give it all away today.  You will have to check back to see the rest of this astounding room!  More pictures tomorrow – including the incredible ceiling!

Have a blissful Tuesday!

Hope life is more heaven than havoc! 

Missi



About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

Leave a Reply

