Happy Birthday to Me!

Standard

Thanks so much to you all for being my first official Followers!

45!  I can’t believe I am 45! Well, the good news is that I am out of bed and not in the fetal position crying hysterically like my 40th (and I’m guessing my 50th) …  The bad news is that I am out of bed.  I wish that your birthday was a day for napping, magazines and Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food!  Oh well … a girl can dream.

Today’s post is an introduction to Havoc to Heaven.  I have had a lot of friends ask me:

  • Where did you get that?
  • How did you make that?
  • Can you find me ____ on the internet?
  • How did you think of that?

I hope that this blog will answer some of these questions and lead to many more ideas, questions and adventures!  Please let me know if there is something you would like to see.

I have always dreamed of having my own “Craft Room”.  This is what I have right now –

Havoc right?

Even if you don’t “craft” – wouldn’t it be great to have a space all to yourself?  It could be filled with all your favorite things that mean something just to you.  Talk about happiness!

Here are some ideas of Craft Room Heaven

Looks a lot like my craft closet doesn’t it?  Hmmm…

Oh man – how cool is this little area?  I love the crib mattress spring above the desk and the old cheese graters holding pencils and pens. What unique ideas.  I love people who use things in a different way and it is so green!   Reuse – Recycle – Renew!

PANTONE® 17-1463

I am loving orange this year.  Tangerine Tango by Pantone has been named the color of the year.  Orange is so happy.  I can see myself in that window seat with the newest home decor magazine.  And look at that ceiling!

Lots of fun colors!

http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/dc/artistic-organization-craft-rooms-with-style-156604?image_id=2881024

I can’t imagine having this much space or being this organized.  Wow!

onelittleword.typepad.com

Look at all the light coming through the window!  The color is so peaceful – a great green/gray neutral that looks great with the white trim.

theprojectgirl.com

The word in the window says it all – “Simple”.  A big table and lots of storage.  You could do this room for pretty cheap.  Using stock cabinets from the big box home stores always work well … you can even find them in the “scratch and dent” for really cheap.  The table is just a big conference table.  These are on craigslist all the time or you can find them at the office furniture discount warehouses.  I would like to see a darker, brighter color on the walls.  With so much light coming in, I think a darker color would cozy up the room.

creatingkeepsakesblog.com

I like that you can see everything you have on the open shelves.  You could sit in the big comfy chair, look around and become inspired!

sewmanyways.blogspot.com

I love Apple Green walls!  Reminds me of the color Tupelo Tree by Sherwin Williams – SW6417.  It’s an amazing green that looks great with chocolate brown, black or white.

tatertotsandjello.blogspot.com

These are just a few of the wonderful craft rooms I have found.   But, none of them can hold a candle to my friend from threemonkeez.com.  Her room is the “mack daddy” of all craft rooms!  I can’t wait to show it to you … check back with me on my next post for some great pics and amazing ideas!  I promise you will not want to miss it!

On another note … Congratulations to my brother and my sister for their win last night.  They tied with 14 categories picked correctly on last night’s Oscar’s.  They will each get the Oscar for 6 month’s.  I was off my game last night with only 8 picks – but my niece really blew it.  This was the first year the kids were included and she got 2!  We teased her all night.

Thanks for all the birthday wishes I received already this morning.  I have the most amazing family and friends.  I feel so blessed.

See you soon!  Hope life is more Heaven than Havoc!

Missi

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

8 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday, Missi !!! It is about time you did this as you have an incredible eye for color and style. We are finishing the last of the “storage” rooms in our basement and I wanted to make one a sewing – craft room so these are some great ideas !!!!!
    cant’ wait to see more – Michelle

Leave a Reply

