Make Your Front Porch Say “Welcome”!

Standard

Well … another Monday after a busy weekend.  The weather was beautiful – thank goodness with all we had going on.  My parents are here on their way back to Minnesota from a winter in Florida.  I love this visit every year – the trees are blooming, lacrosse is in full swing and it’s Prom weekend.  I am going to include a few pictures of Prom, mainly for family or friends that might be interested.  If you want to skim right through these … be my guest. You won’t hurt my feelings.

Saturday was crazy – my daughter and I left early to drive to the beauty salon to have her prom up-do done. We had prom pics with 30 couples at 5:00 and then we hosted the after party.  It was a loooonnnggg night for mom and dad, but kids had a blast.

Here are some pictures …  An amazing braided bun:

Isn’t it so unique and beautiful?  We found it on Pinterest – Bryce Dallas Howard was wearing it to some award show.  I printed the picture and the girl at the salon whipped it right up – she was amazing!  We liked it even more than the pic!

Iridescent drop earrings matched the beads on the dress.

This is the clutch she carried.  It is Blush and matched her shoes and nails perfectly.  You know how important that is?!

Da da da …. the dress!

Here is the beading at the top of the dress.  It is a pewter color and just gorgeous!

The full dress.  Okay … here is the story on the dress.  I found this dress on ebay.  It is made by a company in China who reproduces celebrity dresses and beads all their dresses by hand.  It is called celebritydresses.com.  Sounds a little spendy, right?  Nope – dress was $139.00 – yes you heard that right … $139.00.  But what about shipping – it is coming from China?  $39.00 – uh huh… Grand total was $178.00.  I don’t know if any of you have ever bought a prom dress, but they are crazy expensive.  I was stupid last year and paid $548.00 – what was I thinking??  Never again.

Here is it all together …

Beautiful day, nice date and great friends!  They had a wonderful time.  If you can believe it … the fun did not end until 10:30 a.m. on Sunday.  Prom is quite the adventure!

Alright … enough of my gushing.  On to the front porch!

Your front door and/or porch is the centerpiece of your home.  It is where your first impressions are made and can determine if your guests feel welcome or not so special.  It is really easy to make your front entrance welcoming.  Just a few simple items and you can change the front of your home from sad to a big, warm smile!

This is my front door.  It was originally a solid front door – with cracked white paint.  We replaced the door with a glass door to bring light into the foyer.  I like the look of a glass door – but I know it is not for everyone.  It can be a problem for privacy – especially if someone comes to the door you don’t know – you can be a little vulnerable.  If this happens to me, I just roll off the couch and hide on the floor.  Not really … but I have thought about it.  One of the most favorite things I did to the outside of my house is paint around the windows in SW Rustic Red.  I will show you some before and after’s of the outside of our house in another post.  I love how it turned out!

This is the empty right corner of the porch.

Left side is also empty and not happy at all!

First add a welcome mat.  Let me just say that I like the colors in this mat … but it is waaaaayyy too small and is driving me crazy.  This will have to be replaced.  But for now it will have to do.

The next thing I wanted to do was add a chair to the corner.  I had an old chair that had been exposed to the elements for a bit too long.

Just a plain, old chair – no real character.

Here is a close up … can you see how weathered it is?  Now – just a can of black spray paint and TA-DA!  New chair!

Ignore the pollen … I tried to wipe it down – but couldn’t wipe fast enough.  Pollen is the Pits!

Add a pillow.  This is a burlap (one of my Friday Favorites) pillow – monogrammed with our house numbers.  I actually ordered this from Pottery Barn – it was on sale and very reasonable.  Instead of monogramming with initials – I did it with the numbers instead.  I like the way it turned out.

Close up of the pillow.  The red matches my window trim exactly.  Yay me!

I added a couple cheap lanterns that I picked up at Hobby Lobby.  The candles inside (again a rustic red) are the flame less candles that turn on by themselves on a timer.  It is such a welcoming look when the candles light up the lanterns at night.  This is such an easy way to make a big impact on warming up your welcome.

This is a super funky “S” I picked up at an Antique Market.  I love the colors in it and it is the perfect size.  You can see it from the street, but it is not obnoxious.

Here is a better shot of the colors and textures.  Really unique and one-of-a-kind.

Put a wreath on your front door.  Nothing says welcome like a beautiful wreath that goes with the season.  This is my spring welcome wreath.  I purchased this on Etsy.com and I adore the colors and the butterflies!

Here you can really see those butterflies!  This shop on Etsy does the most beautiful wreaths.  They last forever and make such a statement.  I think it’s worth it.  You can take a look at – http://www.etsy.com/shop/LuxeWreaths?ref=seller_info.  You could also make your own – I haven’t tackled that project yet.

Want to see it all together? Here are the current after pictures.  I have some pots with flowers coming and few other surprises – I’ll post those pictures later.

See how simple and easy it is to change the entire look of your porch or front door?  The longest time anything took on this fix up, was spray painting the chair and that was done in less than an hour.  You can welcome your friends and family to your home by adding a few simple items … it will make you smile and will make them feel at home.  Give it a try!

Hope your life is more heaven than havoc!

Missi

This post has been linked up at:

http://southernhospitalityblog.com/spring-fling-link-party/spring_fling_button_rhoda/

Check out the Spring Door Party!

 

About Missi @ havoc to heaven

I am the President and CEO of the Smith House (according to me). I am married and we have four teenagers all within 3 1/2 years of each other - including a set of twins. Let's just say I log more miles on my car then a NY taxi driver. I am one crazy, busy lady. But - I know that the kids will be off to college soon enough so I relish the craziness and take lots of Xanax (oops I mean baths). I love to see things that are in havoc turn into heaven on earth. I am a self taught designer who has a passion for paint colors, fabrics, vintage accessories and everything on Etsy and Pinterest! I hope you enjoy my blog. I will be showing all kinds of scenarios that have been taken from "Havoc to Heaven" - from remodeling, refinishing and maybe just starting from scratch!

6 responses »

  1. I loved this! We are planning to spruce up our small front patio this weekend and I got some great ideas here. Any tips on painting over the wood? Did you use a muted black paint? Thanks!

    • Thanks so much! Super easy to paint the wooden chair. Just a light sanding and a can of black spray paint. I think the reason it looks like a muted black is that I used a satin finish. I like the flat look – makes it look “older”. I hope you will visit again and consider following my little blog! Missi

  2. Yes, I agree with Andrea, Gorgeous! It must be that time of year when our thoughts go to sprucing up the front porch. That is my goal for Spring Break, redo my porch and make it say “WELCOME!”.
    I love your reds!

Leave a Reply

